img_1821
On the 18th of December 2016, numerous members of our association followed the invitation to visit our new location on the grounds of the former airfield Gütersloh / “Princess Royal Barracks”. For the first time, after we moved to the new accommodation in Hangar 6, we opened our doors in order to show our members the actual exhibits and the former airfield.

img_1796

Thomas Krell welcomed our guests in the club room of Hangar 6 and gave a brief overview of the current activities of the association as well as the goals achieved so far. Afterwards, many of our members used the opportunity to participate in a guided tour of the area, which was professionally accompanied by Hannu Peters and Marc Tecklenborg. Later on in the restored club room of the hangar 6 everybody had the possibility to grab a warm drink and talk about the impressions of the day. Besides taking a look at our largest exhibits, everybody also had the opportunity to comprehend the everyday life on the airfield during Royal Air Force times by watching historical film footage.

img_1820

v.l.n.r. Alexander Bergmann, Marc Tecklenburg, Hannu Peters, Hagen Franke, Michael Brand Foto © Thomas Krell

Technical manager Hagen Franke gave more information on restoration plans and further technical details. Thomas Krell and Michael Brand took care about all members and answered every questions concerning the work of the association. Special thanks go to Alexander Bergmann, who impressed our members and guests during the tour with facts and vivid demonstrations on the use of squadron shelters.

img_1821Am 18. Dezember 2016 folgten zahlreiche Mitglieder unserer Einladung die neue Vereinsunterkunft auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Flugplatzes Gütersloh / „Princess Royal Barracks“ zu besichtigen. Erstmalig, nach Bezug der neuen Unterkunft  im Hangar 6, öffneten wir unsere Pforten, um unseren Mitgliedern hautnah die aktuellen Exponate und das Flugplatzgelände näher zu bringen.

img_1796

Thomas Krell begrüßte unsere Gäste im Vereinsraum des Hangar 6 und gab einen kurzen Überblick über die aktuellen Aktivitäten des Vereins sowie die bisher erreichten Ziele. Anschließend nutzten viele unserer Mitglieder die Möglichkeit an einer fachlich durch Hannu Peters und Marc Tecklenborg begleitete Rundfahrt über das Gelände teilzunehmen.  Im restaurierten Clubraum des Hangar 6 wurde später bei einem warmen Getränk gefachsimpelt und Anekdoten ausgetauscht. Unter anderem bot sich neben der Besichtigung unserer Großexponate noch die Möglichkeit  den Alltag zu Royal Air Force Zeiten auf dem Flugplatzgelände anhand von historischen Filmaufnahmen nachzuvollziehen.

img_1820

v.l.n.r. Alexander Bergmann, Marc Tecklenburg, Hannu Peters, Hagen Franke, Michael Brand – Foto © Thomas Krell

Technikleiter Hagen Franke gab Auskunft zu Restaurierungsfragen und technischen Details. Die Mitgliederbetreuung in allen Vereinsfragen übernahmen Thomas Krell und Michael Brand. Besonderer Dank gilt Alexander Bergmann, der unsere Mitglieder und Gäste auf der Besichtigungstour mit Fakten und anschaulichen Demonstrationen zur Nutzung der Staffel-Shelter-Anlagen begeisterte.