Hawker Hunter T. Mk 7 with the registration number XL 618 was built in December 1958 and first flew on the 7 January 1959. She was delivered to RAF Gütersloh, were she served on No 14 Squadron RAF from the 12 May 1959 till 27 November 1961. During this time XL 618 was also used by the Gütersloh Station Flight for Instrument and Navigational Rating Flights for the Pilots of the 3 Hunter Fighter Squadrons No’s 14, 20 and 26 who were flying Hunter F. Mk 4 to enable them to remain current on type. The Station Flight at RAF lever also used XL 618 in this role for their pilots on the RAF Iever Hunter squadrons.

During the middle 60’s XL 618 was transferred to No 229 Operational Conversion Unit (OCU) based at RAF Chivenor where she was used to train pilots who were training to fly Hunters. In September 1974, No 229 OCU was moved to RAF Brawdy and shortly afterwards disbanded. In reality they were renamed to become No. 1 Tactical Weapons Unit (TWU). XL 618 was assigned the tactical number 87 and was used for training pilots in the use of the various weapons that the Hunter carried.

 

HunterT7XL618-05Cottesmore060791

Hunter T. Mk 7 XL618 at RAF Station Shawbury. Photo © Keith Horsewood

She stayed in this role at RAF Brawdy until 1980 when she was removed from active service and moved to No. 5 MU RAF Kemble where she stood until 1983. She was moved again to RAF Shawbury and finally went into Storage. At Shawbury the tactical number was changed fro 87 to 05. On the 3 April 1986 XL 618 was given the maintenance registration 8892M and was used for Ground Maintenance Instruction.From 19 November 1986 she was used as an instructional airframe by the Battle Damage Repair Flight (BDRF) at RAF Cottesmore, to train service personal in the repair of damage which had occurred during operational service. After approximately 5 years with the BDRF she was towed to the Dump at RAF Cottesmore. 0n the 27 September XL61 8 was rescued from the Dump at RAF Cottesmore and moved by road to Caernarfon Airworld Aviation Museum, Dinas Dinlle in Wales as the gate guard. Shortly after her arrival she received a fantasy paint scheme in blue, green and brown. Then at the end of 2008 XL 618 was repainted in the typical red and white (strawberry ripple) paint scheme of Air Training Command, which was more fitting than the previous fantasy paint scheme. During June 2014 XL 618 was again on the move this time to the Newark Aviation Museum on loan to Lakes Lightnings who had saved her from becoming scrap.

hawker

Hawker Hunter T. Mk 7  photographed at Caernarfon Airworld Aviation Museum in Dinas Dinlle as gate guard with the phantasy painting colours blue, green and brown. Photo © David Burke

7380744850_3bb66bb891

End of 2008 Hunter T.7 XL618 got the typical red-white colours of air training commands. Photo © Vodka Burner

The future of XL 618 Hunter T. Mk 7 who during more than 20 years service has trained hundreds of pilots, observers and technicians is to become a museums piece in her first and last posting to Gütersloh in the Flugplatz Museum Gütersloh.

Marcus Herbote and Marc Tecklenborg, March 2016

Gebaut im Dezember 1958 fand der Erstflug als Hawker Hunter T Mk.7 mit der Kennung XL 618 am 7. Januar 1959 statt. Das Flugzeug flog vom 12. Mai 1959 bis 27. November 1961 bei der No 14 Squadron stationiert in Gütersloh. Im gleichen Zeitraum nutzte auch die Gütersloh Station Flight den Trainer, um den drei Hunter F Mk. 4 Einheiten (No 14, 20 und 26 Squadron) als Instrumenten-, Navigations- und Checktrainer zu dienen. In der gleichen Rolle war die Hunter auch bei der Jever Station Flight im Einsatz.

Ab Mitte der sechziger Jahre flog die Maschine dann bei der No 229 Operational Conversion Unit (OCU) stationiert auf der RAF Basis  Chivenor und diente der Ausbildung zukünftiger Piloten. Die No 229 OCU verlegte Anfang September 1974 auf die RAF Station Brawdy und wurde kurz danach aufgelöst. Faktisch wurde die Einheit ledigich umbenannt und erhielt den Titel  No 1 Tactical Weapons Unit (TWU). Der Jet bekam den Zahlencode „87“ zugewiesen und diente in Brawdy hauptsächlich zur Waffenausbildung.

HunterT7XL618-05Cottesmore060791

Hunter T. Mk 7 XL618 auf der RAF Station Shawbury. Foto © Keith Horsewood

Im Jahr 1980 wurde die Hunter T. Mk7 aus dem aktiven Dienst genommen und stand einige Jahre auf dem Flugplatz RAF Kemble bei der No 5 Maintenance Unit und wurde ab 1983 in RAF Shawbury eingelagert. Hier änderte man den Code in „05“. Mit dem Kennzeichen 8892M diente sie ab dem 3. April 1986 für Ground Instructional (GI) Aufgaben. Ab dem 19. November 1986 setze man den Trainer dann in der Battle Damage Repair Flight (BDRF) am Standort Cottesmore zur Ausbildung von Schäden an Flugzeugen im Kampf ein. Nach knapp fünf Jahren zog man das Flugzeug im August 1991 schließlich auf den Dump (Schrottplatz) der RAF Station. Am 27. September 1995 transportierte man die Hunter T.7 zum Caernarfon Airworld Aviation Museum in Dinas Dinlle als Gate Guard, sie erhielt kurze Zeit später einen Phantasie-Anstrich in den Farben blau, grün und braun.  Erst Ende 2008 bekam die Hunter T.7 XL618 mit den typischen rot-weißen Farben des Air Training Commands eine weitaus passendere Bemalung. Im Juni 2014 fand sie den Weg ins Newark Aviation Museum, als Leihgabe von „Lakes Lightnings“, die die Maschine vor der drohenden Verschrottung gerettet hatten.

hawker

Hawker Hunter T. Mk 7  abgebildet am Caernarfon Airworld Aviation Museum in Dinas Dinlle als Gate Guard im Phantasie-Anstrich in den Farben blau, grün und braun. Foto © David Burke

7380744850_3bb66bb891

Ende 2008 bekam die Hunter T.7 XL618 die typischen rot-weißen Farben des Air Training Commands. Foto © Vodka Burner

In Zukunft wird der Kampftrainer, der in über 20 Dienstjahren viele Hundert Piloten, Kampfbeobachter und Techniker ausbildete Teil der Ausstellung des Flugplatzmuseums Gütersloh sein und somit den Weg an seinen ersten Einsatzstandort finden. Zur Zeit befindet sich die Maschine zur Restaurierung eingelagert im Depot unseres Museum. Durch die großen Korrosionsschäden wird die Restaurierung einige Jahre in Anspruch nehmen.

 

Marcus Herbote und Marc Tecklenborg, im März 2016